Western Canada’s best junior golfers converge on Yorkton

Written by Clark Stork


Over 60 of the best junior boy and girl golfers across Western Canada will tackle the Deer Park Golf Course in Yorkton this upcoming weekend.

The Acura Future Links Prairie Championship returns to Saskatchewan this year. The event rotates between Manitoba and Saskatchewan each year. 17 girls and 46 boys will make up the field that tees off for the 54-hole championship on Thursday beginning at 7 a.m.

Regarded as one of Saskatchewan’s top-ranked 18-hole golf courses, Deer Park Municipal Golf Course’s already challenging terrain is dotted with numerous water and sand areas.

“Golf Canada and Golf Saskatchewan are delighted to present the 2019 Future Links, driven by Acura Prairie Championship at such a terrific venue,” said Steve Ryde, the tournament director and Sport Development and Championships Manager with Golf Saskatchewan. “We are confident Deer Park Municipal Golf Course will challenge Canada’s premier junior golfers as they showcase their skills.”

The top five boys will earn exemptions into the 2019 Canadian Junior Boys Championship Aug. 11 to 15 at Covered Bridge Golf & Country Club in Hartland, N.B. Should there be a tie for the fifth position, a playoff will be conducted following the conclusion of play.

The top five girls (including ties) will receive an exemption into the 2019 Canadian Junior Girls Championship July 29 to Aug. 2 at Lethbridge Country Club in Lethbridge, Alta.

The Saskatchewan players are listed below:

  • Lauren Fox, Creighton
  • Brooklin Fry, Shell Lake
  • Sarah Grieve, Saskatoon
  • Ella Kozak, Yorkton
  • Carey McLean, Deer Valley
  • Autumn Neiszner, Regina
  • TJ Baker, Prince Albert
  • Logan Chernoff, Estevan
  • Ryan Chernoff, Estevan
  • Parker Dale, Saskatoon
  • Tommy Danielson, Saskatoon
  • Will Danielson, Saskatoon
  • Steven Duchscher, Saskatoon
  • Colby Friedrich, Battleford
  • Chase Gedak, Estevan
  • Darien Herlick, Weyburn
  • Adam Husli, Regina
  • Cole Jenkins, Prince Albert
  • Hunter Kutcher, Regina
  • Josh Nagy, Saskatoon
  • Alex Swinnerton, Saskatoon
  • Carter Timmerman, LeRoy
  • Cort Tunall, Kindersley
  • Jackson Wingert, Saskatoon

All the details and live scoring can be found here.