Login
MENU

Rule of the Week (June 10 – 16)

Written by Brian Lee

DECISION 18-2/33 – Rotating Ball on Putting Green Without Marking Position

QUESTION:
Dave has the habit of rotating his ball on the putting green to line up the trademark and identification line with the hole. Dave did not lift the ball, mark its position or change its position. Does Dave receive a penalty?

ANSWER:
Yes, Dave is penalized one stroke for touching the ball other than as provided for in the Rules (Rule 18-2). Under Rules 16-1b and 20-1, a ball on the putting green may be lifted (or touched and rotated) ”after” its position has been marked. If Dave had simply marked the position of the ball before rotating it, there would have been no penalty.

Reminder to mark your ball, in any of the prescribed manners, and then rotate the ball.