2020 Sask. Golf Hall of Fame class announced

Written by Clark Stork

The 2020 class of inductees into the Saskatchewan Golf Hall of Fame have been announced.

Lindsay Bernakevitch, Pat Buglass, Melodie Lawrek, Brad Phelps, and Ken Rodgers will make up the group going into the Hall.

Lindsay Bernakevitch – Player (Saskatoon)

  • Four-time (consecutive) Saskatchewan men’s amateur champion
  • Member of Team Canada 2001-2004
  • Represented Canada at nine international events
  • Six Canadian amateur appearances
  • Two-time Glencoe Invitational winner

Pat Buglass – Builder (Indian Head)

  • 20-year club captain at Saskatoon’s Holiday Park
  • 25 years in roles as Saskatoon Women’s Golf Sports Council, City Championships chair
  • President Canadian Ladies’ Golf Association Saskatchewan branch
  • Chair, Western Canada Women’s Golf Tournament in 1998, committee member for Canadian Women’s Amateur at Riverside in 1986
  • Course rater since 1992, referee since 1997

Melodie Lawrek – Builder (Regina)

  • Three-time Royal Regina Golf Club lady’s president
  • 16 years on Regina City Ladies’ Tournament (1994 – 2000)
  • Former Golf Saskatchewan president
  • National referee since 2007
  • Observer/official U.S. Women’s Open Championship

Brad Phelps – Player (Saskatoon)

  • Two-time Saskatchewan mid-amateur champion (2008, 2017)
  • 12-time national competitor (two-time medal winner at nationals in team event)
  • Six-time Saskatchewan mid-masters (40+) champion
  • Three-time Order of Merit champion (2009 – 2011)
  • Publinx, Lobstick, Central Amateur, Prince Albert Northern, Wildwood Open, and Holiday Park Open winner

Ken Rodgers – Player (Regina)

  • Two-time Saskatchewan senior men’s champion (2017, 2019)
  • 13-time national event competitor
  • Four-time Tor Hill club champion
  • Four-time PGA of Saskatchewan sales rep of the year
  • 2011 Titleist Canadian sales rep of the year

The 2020 induction banquet has been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A new date will be announced in the future.

Golf Saskatchewan will have full video features with all five inductees over the next few weeks.